







Honorable Marc Miller - Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship House of Commons Ottawa ON K1A 0A6 minister@cic.gc.ca

January 2025

Dear Minister Miller,

Thank you very much for your detailed response to our inquiries about compensation in the LINC sector. (see previous correspondence attached) We now better understand your role in working with service provider organizations (SPOs) related to salaries across different LINC programs in Canada.

We have several follow-up questions related to your response:

- 1. Principles and Criteria for Salary/Wage Contributions: Would you be able to share the principles and criteria which you follow when negotiating contributions towards salaries/wage costs with SPOs? This would help build shared understanding across our membership for how such decisions are made. We could use this type of information to educate program managers about how to include increased wages for their staff in their funding applications.
- 2. National Sector Compensation Review: What is the expected timeline for the completion and dissemination of the National Sector Compensation Review? Is the past research into sectoral compensation available for review? Does IRCC intend to share the National Sector Compensation Review with SPOs and other stakeholders across Canada? If this is the intent, the organizations submitting this letter would appreciate receiving this review report.
- 3. Stakeholder Consultations and Future Research: The organizations represented in this correspondence would greatly appreciate the opportunity to provide robust input when stakeholder consultations occur. In past consultations, it has been suggested that

we as a sector should conduct research to support our request for improved and more equitable salaries. Is this a research project that could be funded through Settlement and Resettlement Call for Proposals (CFP) in the future?

We look forward to your response and would appreciate any further insights you can provide regarding these important issues.

Sincerely,

May Yeung

ATESL President

May Geung

Allison Keown

TESL Ontario Executive Director

Tatiana Zotova

TESL Saskatchewan Board Chair

Trevor Pfahl

Trevor Pfahl

TESL Manitoba Acting President

Cecilia Aponte de Hanna

TESL Ontario Chair

Irina Volchok

TESL Canada President